Tanzania is situated in East Africa, and part of the prospected East Africa Community Federation. The country is just south of the equator, The United Republic of Tanzania is the union of Tanzania mainland formally Tanganyika and Zanzibar which made in 1964. The mainland Tanzania lies between the area of the great lakes; Victoria, Tanganyika and Nyasa or Malawi. It is bordered with Indian Ocean on its’ coastline to the east, Uganda and Kenya to the north, Mozambique and Malawi to the south, Zambia to the southwest and Zaire, Burundi and Rwanda to the west.

The country is also bordered by three greatest lakes; Victoria, the largest freshwater lake in Africa, Tanganyika, the second deepest lake in the world; and Lake Malawi the forth deepest lake in the world after Baikal lake of Siberia, Tanganyika and Caspian Sea of Iran. Other lakes within Tanzania include Natron, Eyasi, Manyara (popular dwelling of Lesser Flamingos) and Rukwa.